Home > Businesses And Communities > “It’s About Time” – Give to V.O.I.C.E.S.

“It’s About Time” – Give to V.O.I.C.E.S.

December 12, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments


Ever wonder what happens to foster kids once they reach 18?

Here’s a quick glimpse of some previous statistics:
-65%  find themselves without a place to live
-by the age of 19, only 57% will have received a high school diploma or GED
-less than 50% are employed 2.5-4 years after leaving foster care
-56% are reported using hard drugs
-50% suffer from chronic health conditions
-” Over 70% of all California State Penitentiary inmates have spent time in the foster care system.”
(These and more statistics can be found on the V.O.I.C.E.S. website.)

V.O.I.C.E.S., which stands for Voice Our Individual Choices for Emancipation Support, was founded in November of 2005, and has been helping these youth find jobs, homes, and helping them during their transition out of foster care.
To continue to help these youth however, V.O.I.C.E.S. needs your help.  $15,000 must be raised by the end of this year!

Watch this video, then learn a little more about V.O.I.C.E.S. and what they do for these youth, and how you can help.
http://vimeo.com/7905796

V.O.I.C.E.S. Mission statement: “V.O.I.C.E.S. is a community based organization that exists to empower, love, and support under-served Napa County youth transitioning from systems of care.” 

V.O.I.C.E.S. also has a new center in Sonoma, located in Santa Rosa, CA, which opened its doors in April 2009 as an expansion of V.O.I.C.E.S Napa.
“V.O.I.C.E.S. Sonoma exists to provide a supportive, safe, and non-judgemental community where transition-aged youth from all systems of care can utilize peer based resources, feel connected, and build a foundation for their futures.” (Mission statement of V.O.I.C.E.S. Sonoma).

Visit the V.O.I.C.E.S. website at: http://www.voicesyouthcenter.org/

PLEASE HELP! GO HERE TO DONATE NOW: http://givetovohttp://www.voicesyouthcenter.org/ices.com/

“IT’S ABOUT TIME THAT FOSTER YOUTH GOT THE ATTENTION THEY DESERVE.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

